Start a discussion

88 views
2 replies

Swing Migration SBS 2011 to 2016 Std folder redirection problem

Ive moved exchange to O365 and uninstalled exchange on SBS 2011.

Ive moved to DFS following the guide on here,  i'm building a temp DC and migrating the AD roles to this, I have some scripts that will report the share and printers etc so I can re-establish them later.

I then plan to create another Windows 2016 machine with the same name as my sbs 2011 box, move all the roles again then attach all the data back as its copied out to iscsi devices. re establish the shares and printers etc.

I have performed this before, but I always have an issue with Redirected files and folders.

The name changed between 2011 (RedirectedFolders) and 2016 (Folder Redirection), has ended up confusing the workstations especially those that haven't synced recently and may have changes waiting to sync back to the server. Ultimately its ended up in data loss.

Is there a better way to handle this situation, I was thinking of trying to change the 2016 share so it was the same as the old 2011 share, however i'm not sure this will work going forward, as something in windows might depend on it ?

Any suggestions welcome?

Paul Gee Paul Gee
Published 12/20/2018 03:34
  • Migration
  • Folder redirection
Add Comment
Mariette Knap

We will solve this issue in the upcoming guides for migrating SBS 2011/2008 to a Windows Server 2019 Standard server. IMHO there is no valid reason to think of to keep the original server name of your SBS in a migration scenario. As a matter of fact, we do not endorse a Swing Migration and we never use this method in our guides.

replied 12/29/2018 10:27
Mariette Knap

We have finished the following new guides that solve the problems with Redirected Folders and Group Policies in a migration scenario from SBS 2008/2011 to Windows Server Standard or Datacenter 2016/2019.

Remember that Windows Server 2019 Essentials is not the same as the 2012 or 2016 release. Windows Server 2019 Essentials is the same as Standard or Datacenter, no more Essentials Role. The Essentials version of 2019 is limited version to 25 users or 50 devices.
replied 02/18/2019 08:39
Last Activity 02/18/2019 08:39