Tutorials

How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition

How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition

If you are setting up a new server with Windows Server 2016 Essentials as the operating system or you are migrating from an older OS, it is always a good idea to separate the operating system from your user files. I create a system drive as large as 256 GB and another partition for the user files. That ‘user’ partition or drive can be on another disk subsystem, or it is part of your storage pools if you have any.

In this example I have two hard drives, one is 512 GB and the other one is 1 TB. I want to move all user related files, folders and shares to that 1 TB drive.

  1. Let us have a look in Server Manager –> File and Storage Services –> Volumes and then Disks. In our example, we have added a new disk of 1 TB and this one is new and clean. We need to initialize the disk first before we can create a volume on it.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  2. We initialize this disk as a GPT disk, click Yes. GPT stands for GUID Partition Table and is the new way of doing things. MBR has hardly used anymore on modern servers.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  3. Right-click the disk you just initialized and choose new volume
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  4. Next
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  5. Disk 2 was the one I just initialized. Choose the disk and click Next
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  6. I choose to specify the maximum size available. Click next.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  7. Assign a drive letter, click next.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  8. Give the volume a meaningful name; I choose Data. Click Next
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  9. Confirm the selections and click Create.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  10. Click close if the wizard has completed.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  11. In the overview of Volumes and Disks, we can see that our server has a new Volume with drive letter D:
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  1. Open the Dashboard, choose Storage and highlight the folder you want to move and click Move the folder
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  2. Next
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  3. In the new location, you see it automatically choose the correct drive and it will also create the same folder structure as it already had. Click Move folder.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  4. Click next. You can ignore the warning about Shadow Copy; we will fix that later.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  5. Click Close
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  6. In the Storage overview, you see that the Company share moved to its new location. I would do that with all the Server Folders.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  1. In explorer right click the new volume and choose Configure Shadow Copies. You can also do this before you move folders with the wizard in Dashboard. That way you prevent the error as shown in step 4.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  2. Click Yes.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  3. Highlight the D: drive and click Enable.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  4. Click Yes. If you need more information about 'enabling shadow copies' click the link in the window.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition
  5. Click OK and you are done.
    How to move the default location of the server folders in the Dashboard on a new hard disk or partition

Join our community.

Excellent content,
great people!

Like what you see? Join us for free*

Subscribe and receive ‘how to’ and ‘best practice’ articles on server and cloud maintenance, design and troubleshooting.

  • Monthly newsletter with a summary of all new tutorials
  • Get an email as soon as a new tutorial has been published

About www.server-essentials.com 

www.server-essentials.com is founded by Mariette Knap, a Dutch Microsoft MVP. www.server-essentials.com is a community for IT Consultants and Business Owners who, themselves, take care of the IT infrastructure and Employees who do that little extra in the company to keep things running. Our forum is for discussing all things ‘IT’ and more.  Our documentation is top notch and written by and for the community.

Change your cookie consent Revoke your cookie consent


 
Contact Us
(030) 2250455

International: +31302250455

 

Concentrix BV

C. de Rijcklaan 1

3723 PM Bilthoven

The Netherlands

KvK 30202318

VAT Id 814036739B01

This page is intended to be viewed online and may not be printed. You are not allowed to save or print any documentation on www.server-essentials.com. If you save documentation locally or distribute it you are violating the Terms of Service of this website you agreed on when registering an account. You have access to the documentation as long as you have a valid subscription. If you try to download our documentation we will drop Javascript which makes it possible for us to track you.